Awards & Achievements

The Sherwood Park Fish and Game Association is active in the Community and in the Province. Their initiatives gain them much respect with Corporations, Government Agencies and other Organizations. As a result, numerous awards have been received over the years.

 Life Members

Members who have consistently contributed to the club over many years and have met the demanding criteria for Life Membership Award may be awarded a Life Membership in appreciation of their dedication to the Association. Current Life Members are (* Denotes Deceased):

Reginald Gray *
Paul Morck
Steve Witiuk
William Tenetiuk *
George Page *
Alex Schwarzer
Fred Wolfe
Clarence (Bill) Middleton *
Frank Lee
Lloyd Hakes *
Andy Boyd*
Pat Harris

Al Wagner
Dennis Perka
Al Giacomazzi
Garnet Anthony
Steve Ujvarosy *
Ed Scarlett
Norman Honish *
Robert Loewen
Bill Abercrombie
Lyall Kortzman
Vern McIntosh

Christian Weintz *
Ivan Johnston *
Les Berry *
Gaetan Richard
Ken Sobkiw *
Deanna Loewen
Gordon Kerr
Ron Durstling
Richard Rothwell
Leona (Lee) Horne
Tassi Xenos

Charlie Roberts Memorial Award

This special award is to be given to a member who has made an exceptional contribution to the Club. The criteria for this award is very high, therefore this award is not necessarily given each year. Charlie Roberts was a dedicated and loyal member who was killed in an industrial accident in 1972. This memorial award represents the extreme dedication to the Fish, Wildlife and Habitat that Charlie held so dear. The Charlie Roberts Memorial Award is sponsored Reginald Gray.

Awards of Merit

Club members who have made a special contribution during the year are recognized at the Annual Awards night with the presentation of a Certificate of Merit.

Emerald Award 1996

The Alberta Foundation for Environmental Excellence was founded in the fall of 1991 to recognize the outstanding initiative and leadership Albertans are demonstrating in the face of the many environmental challenges of the 1990s. The Emerald Award was created to celebrate these achievements and encourages clubs and organization to participate. The Foundation brings together a group of resourceful organizations committed to ensure recognition of significant strides being made by Albertans to protect, preserve, enhance and sustain our environment.

In 1996, The Sherwood Park Fish & Game Association was the winner of this award through a wide variety of activities undertaken to conserve wildlife and habitat on its property comprising of natural habitat, nature trails, etc. It was actively involved in efforts to eradicate the Purple Loosest rife weed.


External Association Awards

In 2000, the Club was awarded a special recognition award by the Edmonton Fish and Game Association. The awards reads:

“With gratitude for your support and unselfish act of co-operation in assisting fellow Fish and Game Members. It is clubs such as yourselves that make Fish and Game Association such a worthwhile organization. Your assistance during our time of trouble in 2000 helped smooth out our troubles and was of invaluable benefit.”

In 1995, the RCMP gave the club recognition for its assistance to the police. This award reads:

“In appreciation to the Sherwood Park Fish and Game Association in recognition of your contribution to the Sherwood Park RCMP Auxiliary Constable Program”.

Alberta FGA Awards

The parent organization awards clubs in the province at its annual conference. SPFGA has received a number of these awards throughout the years.

The Guy Blake Memorial Award was received in the 1990, 2004 and 2006. This is awarded for the best club project for habitat improvements or for preparing and delivering briefs at public meetings.

The George Watt Memorial Award was received in 1999 for the SPFGA’s best expenditure of conservation lottery funds for the purpose of Fish & Wildlife Habitat enhancement.

The Outdoor Edge Communications Award was received in 1988 and 1998 for best informing its members on the club’s affairs through newsletters and phone communications.

The Henry Lembicz – Clean Air- Clean Land Award was issued to the club in 1994 for its work on the Purple Loosestrife Eradication Project.

The Archie Hogg Memorial Award was received by SPFGA in 1991 for the best Environmental Publicity Program.

The J.B. Cunningham Award for the Club that has increased its membership the greatest. SPFGA won this award in 2008 and 2009.

Award Winners



Box 3098 Stn Main
Sherwood Park, AB  T8H 2T1


Jun 01
Jun 01

Rimfire Silhouette Overflow Range

June 1 @ 5:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Jun 03

Cowboy Action Group – 50m Range

June 3 @ 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Email Icon;